Day 3 – Exhausted

I’m on day 3 of my new job but I’m exhausted. Fear not, I’m still enjoying it – the role is great (though far more ‘senior’ than I had thought it would be) and the people / culture / environment are top notch.

I’ve had 16 meetings in 3 days. Seriously. That may make me sound like some jumped up yuppy, so I should explain. They are ‘induction’ meetings with the London office consultants (ranging from consultants my age through to managing directors). This firm works at FTSE100 main board level. Very, very high end stuff. Meeting the people my age is fine, but the divisional directors take more effort. I’ve been in professional services so long (too long if I’m honest) that these people don’t daunt me – and unlike the last place (which I hated) – these are genuinely decent people. So it’s fine.

Also, because my role is brand new, there’s a lot of managing expectations going on. Also, day 3 is incredibly ‘early days’ so I still have a lot to get my head around. Everything is still so new, as are the people. Once the blasted induction meetings are over, things should settle down. I also don’t have a permanent desk yet and have been hot-desking which isn’t my preferred way of doing things. This should change in the not too distant future, too.

I’m going out for dinner with some other new staff (young peole too, i.e. my ages) tomorrow night which should be nice. We then have company drinks on the Friday so that should also be alright. I’m certainly looking forward to the weekend (mainly so I can chill out). Bearing in mind I’ve had 3 weeks off, it was always going to be a shock to the system re-entering the world of work.

Not much other news. Tomorrow is crazy busy so I might order my netbook tonight (it’s due in stock tomorrow with free next day delivery) meaning I should get it on Friday. Ironically, my home desktop is no longer playing up (at least, not for now). That won’t stop me buying the netbook though!

11 thoughts on “Day 3 – Exhausted

Add yours

  1. Well, actually, I’ve had 4 years off… I went on maternity leave on 16th November 2004, and I haven’t worked in an office since. Ho hum that’s gonna be some shell shock I get. In a nice way though. I can’t wait!

  2. While I’ve never heard the term “hot-desking” before, I know exactly what you mean and it’s awful. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the job though. And already going out to dinner with the new coworkers! That’s great!

  3. Hen – you’ll be fine and fingers X’d for you, it sounds v.positive ref: your second interview!

    Craig – I’d originally tried to politely decline but as I’ve been there 3 days it dawned on me it would look very bad to not go out with them. They’re my age so that’s another big reason to join them. Oh, surprised you haven’t heard of ‘hot-desking’, I wonder what they call it over there? That term is used all the time here.

  4. Wow, it sounds like you’ve been thrown in at the deep end, eh? But at least it’s all over and done with it and you can get on with things, as you rightly say, when the dust has settled. Think about it, not everybody gets to start in that way. Usually, you spend weeks, months even getting to know people and situating them. Not so sure how I’d feel about the hotdesking thing, either. But it sounds like a wonderful company and I’m just a tad jealous. Weekend’s around the corner, so you’ll be able to get some rest.

  5. My job essentially is hot-desking, and that aspect of it is miserable. I hope you get settled into a nice corner office with widescreen plasma tv soon!

  6. Lula – I have been thrown in at the deep end but it’s quite a supportive and quirky environment. It is so far removed from the ‘blame culture’ of the last place. Hopefully the hot-desking is only temporary.

    Betty – yeh, I feel WAY more positive about this place than the last. Almost no comparison to be honest. Even in 4 days I feel I know 100x more people than I would have done at the last place in the same time period.

    Vic – I hope so too!

    Urbanvox – if you’re unhappy you should get a new job. Life is too short to be unsatisfied at work.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

