Day 24 – Coming out at work

This evening I went out with work. A lovely, trendy, European bar in Covent Garden.

The alpha male – a consultant who I like a lot – asked me in a rather short amount of time and quite sheepishly – if I was gay. To which I said my usual set response: “well, what do you think??”. People always get uncomfortable when I do that. He got very sheepish but it was fine.

“Yes, I’m gay” said I, at last. And that cleared the air. These are some of the brightest, kindest most decent people I’ve ever worked with. I really, really, really like them. Being gay was never, ever going to be an issue here.

Unlike at my last workplace where I detected an inherent homophobia in the air. I loathed my last workplace for so many reasons. Not just one, but many, many reasons. I would never work in that subset of professional services again. Something about it that I really despised.

So all is well. I had a lovely burger and chips – really, really good. And lovely Belgian beer, the really strong stuff. And good company. And of the 6 of us, one of my colleagues it turned out was lesbian. So it’s a diverse place. Not something that surprises me.

I’m 5 weeks in and am really enjoying it. Lots of work – possibly a bit more than I might have liked – but seriously interesting projects. There is no comparison at all with the last place; none. It’s like comparing chalk with cheese. This is the most grown up, high end, relaxed, successful, dynamic, positive place that I’ve ever worked in.

And yes – I’m lesbian, gay and bisexual (the term LGB was one we used at university and I have stuck with it) and I’m darn proud of it. I am who I am.

10 thoughts on “Day 24 – Coming out at work

Add yours

  1. That is so sad that it’s not the norm to be able to share that at work – but I am thrilled you were able to at this place. Can’t wait to hear about their Xmas do!!

  2. Yet another reason to be happy you took the leap. I am really happy for you as I run back to finish my book and chapters before my editors beat me. Congrats for being yourself.

  3. That’s great. It took me about a year at my current job to come out to people. I was worried since I work in the construction industry, but overall it hasn’t caused any problems.

  4. Pete – I know, who would have thought!

    Sven – yeh, was a good result!

    Enrico – sounds good. There is enough stress in most workplaces to not have homophobia on top of all that!

    Mumof4 – I don’t think it’s the norm for most people. Depends on where they work and the local culture, etc.

    Vern – thanks, appreciated! Am following your progress on your blog. Yeh, is nice to be oneself for sure.

    Vic – apparently it’s my standard response!

    Craig – glad you had no problems. I could imagine construction may be a tough sector in which to be gay.

    Hen – LOL, well you did ask the same question on more than one occasion (all times after having had quite a bit to drink) so I guess I have a standard response now!

  5. Yep, I asked you at three separate Christmas dinners if I remember correctly. And then declared that you were my new best friend, that I was a fag hag, and then I propositioned our colleague JK. Not MY finest hour, that one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

