A Christmas gift

P, my handyman has been here the past hour. A really decent guy; very genuine. We were talking and catching up. His friend is doing the painting for me over the next 2-3 days in the hallway and kitchen. P is coming back in the New Year to fix blinds and suchlike and he wants us to meet for lunch, too.

As he left, I handed him a bottle of champagne in a large golden drum. It had been given to me a while back. He was incredibly touched, to an extent I found almost uncomfortable. He said nobody had ever given him anything in the four years he’s been in the UK. I did my absolute best to tell him it was absolutely nothing, it’s simply Christmas time, he’s done a good job of my flat, I have loads of bottles of fizz around the flat and that gift was one of them. But he was just terribly, terribly humbled and grateful which is not something I’d been wanting to elicit. It was simply a token gesture.

Yet again I am reminded that there are lots of people less fortunate than myself for whom a small gesture such as the above actually really means something. It was also a reminder that Christmas is a time for giving.

One thought on “A Christmas gift

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

