Driving home for Christmas

So unoriginal but there we go. I am driving home for Christmas myself shortly.

I will blog over the festive period. This is because the draconian scenario of ’56k dialup’ has been replaced with wireless broadband and as I now have a netbook too, I can surf as I like.

Have felt groggy most of this morning. Fairly heavy night out with work last night. I got a lift all the way home from a colleague and her boyfriend which was nice. They live only a couple of miles from me so it was thankfully no bother.

An enjoyable evening. I really do like the people I work with.

That said, the last two months has been busy. And I mean REALLY busy. I work in the heart of the West End yet never really get to go out at lunchtime as I have meetings or am working (lunch is provided anyway). I love the work, so I can’t complain. Plus, I’m new in the role, so the first few months are always going to be quite steep. But it’s gone really well. The company gave all of us a hamper (Duchy Estate) and mine has been delivered to the family home, so that’s good.

I feel terribly Scrooge-like as I’ve bought no (yes, no) presents this year. My brother will get an Amazon voucher. My mother I’ll probably give money to (funny how the roles reverse as you get older isn’t it???). I just haven’t had the time this year. Plus, I’m not a very Christmasy person. I have managed to send some cards out, but I’ve not put decorations or anything like that up.

The flat stinks of paint and gloss as the decorators finished today. Is a mess as I can’t really hoover up etc as I can’t touch the doors. Plus, the kitchen has been repainted so everything has to be put back / put away. I’ll probably leave that until after Christmas.

Christmas itself will be phenomenally busy like every year. Far too many people. I think there are 7 of us tomorrow, then 8 or so on Boxing Day. I would love to spend Christmas with Mr Right in London (which really empties out at this time of year and is lovely) or abroad, but as I haven’t met him yet, that’ll have to wait until next year!

Anyway I must get packing. Hoping the roads aren’t too busy either.

Happy Holidays! (as the Americans would say!)

10 thoughts on “Driving home for Christmas

Add yours

  1. A very happy Christmas to you too, Milo. We were going to head to the beach tomorrow just cause we could……..but will have a steak bbq instead.

    It’s still a hard life here but someone has to do it, y’know..

  2. Happy Christmas from Leeds, where I have a turkey the size of an ostrich to cook – – that’s all they had, apart from ones that wouldn’t feed a hamster. If hamsters ate turkey. Oy! Milo’s Mr Right! If you’re reading this, get in touch with him, will you, whoever you are? It’s about time you met.

  3. Betty – Happy Holidays to you and yours! Have a great day.

    SB – the beach on Christmas day sounds amazing, Happy Christmas and enjoy the day!

    Ryan – a Happy Christmas to you and Delicat ❀

    Craig – yeh, that’s the PC version that most companies end up using. Have a Merry Christmas and all the best for 2009!

  4. I’m not very christmassy too (but I bet you already knew that… πŸ™‚ )
    if it wasn’t for Vic no one would get a cmas card with my name on it… but hey… πŸ™‚

    happy holidays!!! πŸ™‚

  5. Bah Humbug! But I will make an exception for you and wish you Happy Holidays from Trinidad & Tobago and especially me….oh wait they just told me that i don’t speak for the entire country…so I guess it is just me.

  6. I didn’t buy any presents either! Not only was I not in the xmas mood, but I’m so poor after paying for my Mexico trip and college tuition X |
    Hope you enjoyed your Christmas day anyway!

  7. Urbanvox – trust you had a good day!

    Vern – that was a case of snap, as I was writing on your blog just as you were writing on mine! Hope you’re having a good one!

    Enrico – glad I wasn’t the only one! I did enjoy it though was extremely tiring. Hope yours was good too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

