Delusions of grandeur

I smiled yesterday. I was in a meeting with the CEO, a consultant and an external. The CEO referred to me as “our [XXX] director”. The XXX being my functional role. But I’m a manager, not a director. And I’m on a 6 month contract (which I’m almost half way through). I hope to be offered permanency. But who could say.

But I was somewhat chuffed that he had referred to me thus. Is difficult to know whether I do a good job or not. I’m certainly dedicated. I was in at 7.45am this morning for an 8am teleconference with Australia. I was on the phone with New York when I sped out the door this afternoon. It’s a very international but close-knit company. Which I like. Decent people. That’s important.

We’ll see.

8 thoughts on “Delusions of grandeur

Add yours

  1. All – thanks! They’re keeping me on my toes, though, as I’m still on contract. I guess I should be having (or ask for) a mid-term review, seeing as I’m 1/2 way through in just over a week’s time.

    I also know that a number of the agencies they would call me again ‘in February’ (i.e. 2 months before the 6 month contract ends) to get the ball rolling again.

    Since leaving my last permanent job in June 07, I’ve been on probation or contract ever since. Permanency would be nice. This place is elitist but not in an arrogant way. It would be a big deal to be made permanent. Alternatively they might extend my contract by another 6 months, which I’d be much less happy about (in terms of what that would infer, i.e., we’re still not sure you’re good enough!!). We’ll see.

  2. The other day I went back to school to start work and ran into my boss and HER boss. My boss told HER boss that I am one of her best workers and I smiled too : )

  3. SCM – thanks. We are being affected, more than I thought we would. We’re working at FTSE100 level and many of them are in the **** it seems :S.

    Enrico – nice feedback for you!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Craig – on my job or my blog in general? Not much news on work front. I’m ticking over but feel things are going the right way. Non-work – not much going on. Went to gym yesterday evening which was OK though it was horribly busy. I rowed with the man at the bank today and stormed out in a huff with him calling after me. Sheridan says I have a tendency to be ‘highly strung’ on occasion but I have no idea what he’s talking about. I am normally a model of sweetness and light but I occasionally fly off the handle. I also saw my ex-boyfriend’s boyfriend (who is a director at a global company). We chatted briefly.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

