What Chinese New Year sign are you?

[tweetmeme source=”hellomilo”]

Happy Chinese New Year!

Yes that is a picture of Craig

I need to dislaim this blog post at the very outset by stating this it is leeched directly from the one and only Craig in New York’s blog. Go check out his blog for the original. He being a convivial, friendly, charming and altogether eccentric type – said he didn’t mind me posting it.

Anyway, do tell me which animal sign you are and whether you can see resemblances in character trait or perhaps in the people whose animal sign you share!

I’m the year of the DRAGON and that bit about “you are eccentric and your life complex” was the obvious give away. If you were to believe close friends like Sheridan – a fiery temper and flighty nature might also be in the mix. Makes me shudder to think Sarah Palin has the same sign, though!!

OX: 1937, 1949, 1961, 1973, 1985, 1997, 2009
CELEBRITIES: Meryl Streep, Seth MacFarlane, Heidi Klum, Sigourney Weaver, George Takei, Barrack Obama
PLACEMAT SAYS: Bright, patient, and inspiring to others. You can be happy by yourself, yet make an outstanding parent. Marry a Snake or Cock. The Sheep will bring trouble.

TIGER: 1938, 1950, 1962, 1974, 1986, 1998, 2010
CELEBRITIES: Tom Cruise, Jay Leno, Steve Carell, Leonardo DiCaprio, William H. Macy, Ryan Phillippe, Amanda Bynes
PLACEMAT SAYS: Tiger people are aggressive, courageous, candid, and sensitive. Look to the Horse or Dog for happiness. Beware of the Monkey.

RABBIT: 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975, 1987, 1999, 2011
CELEBRITIES: Angelina Jolie, Brad Pitt, Ian McKellen, Conan Oโ€™Brien, Kate Winslet, Tara Reid, Quentin Tarantino, Mark Hamill
PLACEMAT SAYS: Luckiest of all signs, you are also talented and articulate. Affectionate, yet shy, you seek peace throughout your life. Marry a Sheep or Boar. Your Opposite is the Cock.

DRAGON: 1940, 1952, 1964, 1976, 1988, 2000, 2012
CELEBRITIES: David Hasselhoff, Chuck Norris, Mary McDonnell, Reese Witherspoon, Haley Joel Osment, Wanda Sykes, Sarah Palin
PLACEMAT SAYS: You are eccentric and your life complex. You have a very passionate nature and abundant health. Marry a Monkey of Rat late in life. Avoid the Dog.

SNAKE: 1929, 1941, 1953, 1965, 1977, 1989, 2001
CELEBRITIES: Martha Stewart, Tim Gunn, Sarah Michelle Gellar, J.K. Rowling, Daniel Radcliffe, Robert Downey Jr.
PLACEMAT SAYS: Wise and intense with a tendency towards physical beauty. Vain and high tempered. The Boar is your enemy. The Cock or Ox are your best signs.

HORSE: 1930, 1942, 1954, 1966, 1978, 1990, 2002
CELEBRITIES: Denzel Washington, Katie Holmes, Joe Biden, Oprah Winfrey, Clint Eastwood, John Travolta, Harrison Ford
PLACEMAT SAYS: Popular and attractive to the opposite sex. You are often ostentatious and impatient. You need people. Marry a Tiger or a Dog early, but never a Rat.

SHEEP: 1931, 1943, 1955, 1967, 1979, 1991, 2003
CELEBRITIES: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Pamela Anderson, Moโ€™Nique, John Barrowman, John Krasinski, Will Ferrell
PLACEMAT SAYS: Elegant and creative, you are timid and prefer anonymity. You are most compatible with Boars and Rabbits, but never the Ox.

MONKEY: 1932, 1944, 1956, 1968, 1980, 1992, 2004
CELEBRITIES: Miley Cyrus, Kristen Bell, George Lucas, Will Smith, Tom Hanks, Carrie Fisher, Jake Gyllenhaal
PLACEMAT SAYS: You are very intelligent and are able to influence people. An enthusiastic achiever, you are easily discouraged and confused. Avoid Tigers. Seek a Dragon or Rat.

COCK: 1933, 1945, 1957, 1969, 1981, 1993, 2005
CELEBRITIES: Britney Spears, Jennifer Aniston, Paris Hilton, Jack Black, Steve Martin, Jason Bateman, Jessica Alba
PLACEMAT SAYS: A pioneer in spirit, you are devoted to work and quest after knowledge. You are selfish and eccentric. Rabbits are trouble. Snakes and Oxen are fine.

DOG: 1934, 1946, 1958, 1970, 1982, 1994, 2006
CELEBRITIES: Cher, Madonna, Matt Damon, Steven Spielberg, Queen Latifah, Tina Fey, Ellen DeGeneres, George W. Bush
PLACEMAT SAYS: Loyal and honest you work well wit others. Generous yet stubborn and often selfish. Look to the Horse or Tiger. Watch out for Dragons.

BOAR: 1935, 1947, 1959, 1971, 1983, 1995, 2007
CELEBRITIES: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jada Pinkett Smith, Joel McHale, Sam Neill, Amy Poehler, Hillary Clinton
PLACEMAT SAYS: Noble and chivalrous. Your friends will be lifelong, yet you are prone to marital strife. Avoid other Boars. Marry a Rabbit or a Sheep.

RAT: 1936, 1948, 1960, 1972, 1984, 1996, 2008
CELEBRITIES: Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner, Samuel L. Jackson, Cameron Diaz, Ashlee Simpson, John McCain
PLACEMAT SAYS: You are ambitious yet honest. Prone to spend freely. Seldom make lasting friendships. Most compatible with Dragons and Monkeys. Least compatible with Horses.

Go read Craig’s blog to find out where he got the info, is a nice story!! ๐Ÿ™‚

PS Craig put this together from scratch (well, compiled from a few different resources), so if you end up using it on your blog, at least acknowledge / link to him plz, as I have done. Ta.

17 thoughts on “What Chinese New Year sign are you?

Add yours

  1. I’m a dragon too, Milo, but from a much more distant decade than you of course. The personality traits are a long way off in my case and if anything, although I’m not into astrology either, my Cancer traits are more me.

    I’m ready for a Monkey or a Rat though as I’d have to think I’ve hit that ‘later in life’ bit !!

  2. Same post as Craig? Same comment as Craig. I’m a sheep, although when I was a child it was called The Ram. I think my mum might have made that up, but it kept me happy. Elegant? Of course. Creative? Extremely. Timid and anonymous? Now you’re talking out of your hat.

  3. What?! I’m thrilled to be the same sign as Sarah Palin. If all dragons have similar characteristics, that means we have a chance to be as hilarious and sexy as Sexy Sarah!

  4. I am a dog and the description pretty much fits me to a T. Maybe not the ‘works well with other’s’ part though.

    It tells me to stay away from the Dragon. Both men in my life are dragon’s. I don’t find the description for their sign to fit either of them at all.

    I’ll keep playing with Dragons and hope I don’t get burned. I never did listen well.

  5. Derek – I also like the sheep from Wallace & Grommit! The sheep has his own feature somewhere on the BBC website, too.

    Craig – thank you again!

    SCM – monkey and rat! Such unusual animals the Chinese picked!

    SB – I am a Dragon and a Taurus… nuff said!

    Sven – I like sheep.

    Ryan – I can see you as a rabbit for some reason.

    Mike – indeed!

    Enrico – indeed we do! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Debby – lol! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’m a Monkey and I don’t think I like it.. I don’t think the description fits me very well either . Sadly I don’t believe in any of it . Sometimes I wish I believed in God, or these Chinese years-of-whatever, or astrology, or something, as I think it makes things easier all round. Hey ho.

  7. Craig – indeed!

    Lula – LOL!

    Daphne – well put, I don’t tend to believe them much either! That said, Dragon and Taurus are ones I can’t complain about too much ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

