In the newz (06/02/09)

  • A hilarious complaint letter sent to Sir Richard Branson of Virgin Atlantic is now making the rounds on the internet.
  • Boris Johnson, Mayor of London, has weighed in on the side of Carol Thatcher (daughter of Baroness Thatcher) – stating that the BBC should not have sacked her for likening a black French tennis-player off-air to a ‘golliwog’.
  • The United States has experienced its biggest monthly job loss since 1974. 3.6 million jobs have now been lost since the recession began.
  • Table salt is being bought by the tonne by some British counties, struggling to cope with the worst snows for 18 years and a critical shortage of gritting salt which is running out across the country.

5 thoughts on “In the newz (06/02/09)

Add yours

  1. That letter is one of the funniest things I have ever read. Someone needs to give that guy a job writing comedy.

    I am always amused to read stories about cities/countries/whatever struggling to cope with a few inches of snow, which is totally condescending and bitchy of me, but those of us from the snowbelt can’t seem to help ourselves. šŸ™‚

  2. Crap. You found me. I’ll have to change my name so I can talk smack about you and know one will know. Amy maybe, everyone seems to call me that at work.

  3. I heard about that food complaint and the letter. Makes me think of this book this guy compiled of strange letters he sent to companies. Forgot what it’s called but it was funny.

    And I too came here from Puntabulous. I’m glad Tam joined me šŸ™‚

  4. Tam – yeh, funny isn’t it! Loved the photos – so true, too! Food did look grim.

    Craig – LOL, you’ll want commission soon – I’ve found many great people via your blog. It was Hen who told me to check out your blog all those years ago! I love how blogging is like a network of friends.

    Enrico – wow, that letter really has done the rounds! That guy deserves free upgrades for life I think! šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

