For relaxing times, make it Valium Time

valium-time

I slept badly as felt stressed out. Not because of work, like the olden days, when I was permanently stressed and going though continuous periods of insomnia. But it harked back to that period.

At times like that I wish I had access to Valium or similar. My tranquilizer of choice is invariably alcohol these days. But I drink too much of that as it is. A pill would suffice.

At the onset of flu when I was at Sheridan’s to pick something up (he was away that weekend), I stumbled across a small cupboard that was full of drugs. He doesn’t smoke. He rarely drinks. He doesn’t drink tea or coffee. But he has had a long and enduring relationship with drugs – prescription, over-the-counter and also alternative.

I have honestly never known someone to pop pills the way he does. He has pills for everything. When he was younger he was very ill. These days he is better. But a part of him remains hooked on drugs. Uppers, downers, you get the picture. He also takes a very large number of health supplements, tonics, etc.

I have long assumed that he takes Valium or similar. Though haven’t asked him. He’s quite covetous and ritualistic about the drugs he takes. He has a very demanding and quite stressful job. He finds it hard to relax and unwind and to sleep. So he pops pills. It seems a lot of the professional and middle classes do. A ‘little something’ to help them get through what life throws at them.

I have never taken any type of prescription drug other than antibiotics. Never had uppers, downers, prescription painkillers, etc. That said, there are plenty of times when I’ve wished I’d had ready access to them.

7 thoughts on “For relaxing times, make it Valium Time

Add yours

  1. I was on some great stuff when we were out in Brasil. When we got back, they wouldn’t prescribe it so put me on valium instead – apparently it was the closest thing they had. I have to admit, the valium was nowhere near as good as the original stuff I was taking.
    The husband was given it once for his back pain. He didn’t use much of it, and I’ve used some since for sleep at night, at times when I’ve just been in too much of a state to consider anything else.
    To be honest, I hate popping pills. One happy pill and one multivitamin in the morning and I’ll get by. It’s not my ideal choice, but it’s what it takes to get me through, so I do it.
    If only there were another way.

  2. Vic – good point. I guess, in retrospect, I should be lucky that I don’t have to take anything to get through each day. There are just times when I think a ‘wind down’ pill would be a nice alternative to alcohol. That said, in the days when I went to the gym 2-3 times a week, this really helped me relax.

  3. I hate taking pills and I always ask the doctor if there’s any way of avoiding them when I get prescribed for something. I just feel like I should be able to manage without them if I can. That said, I was on codeine for something or another a few months ago and had the best time. Who knew being ill could be so much fun?

  4. I’ve been on Prozac for as long as I can remember. Plus I’m taking Xenical (the weight loss drug) (when I can remember) so it’s pretty much second nature to me to pop pills. I used to take a lot of vitamins and supplements but stopped them all when I was put on the anti-depressants as I wasn’t sure how they would react together.

    From the age of 18 to 32 I took the contraceptive pill (and still would if I wasn’t fat and banned from it) so I guess that’s just the same!

  5. I’ve been on Prozac for as long as I can remember. Plus I’m taking Xenical (the weight loss drug) (when I can remember) so it’s pretty much second nature to me to pop pills. I used to take a lot of vitamins and supplements but stopped them all when I was put on the anti-depressants as I wasn’t sure how they would react together.

    From the age of 18 to 32 I took the contraceptive pill (and still would if I wasn’t fat and banned from it) so I guess that’s just the same!

  6. I don’t take any drugs, even when they are prescribed to me. After twelve years of lung problems as a child, I refuse to be injected with anything and will be dragged kicking and screaming to the hospital.

    I had to take a muscle relaxing drug for back problems somewhere in the late 90s and I started having acute paranoia. Stopped them myself.

    But that’s just my personal take on them.

  7. Sven – prescription painkillers? Ryan <3s those 😛

    Jen – ah yes, I remember now. I am not convinced by vitamins and health supplements either.

    Lula – oh, sounds serious. I can see why you wouldn't want to take medication after that. I hated injections as a child. Am not so bad now.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

