Tape deck

(via lovegifs)

Yes, they seem quite dinosaur-like nowadays compared with mp3s and music on CDs. But I liked having tapes. I liked taking time to make compilations. For myself, and others. I liked going to the effort of hand-writing the label and the index. In my large hand-writing. Of working out how many songs I could get on each side.

When I think back to tapes I think of artists such as: Roxette, A-Ha, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Petshop Boys, Belinda Carlisle, Bananarama, T’Pau, Cher, Culture Club, Chris de Burgh, Billy Joel, Wham, Tina Turner. Among others.

I still have tapes. In my car. It doesn’t have a CD player, see. The tapes in the car were made about 6 years ago. Which is when I bought the car (second hand). I don’t have a tape deck at home though. I haven’t for many years.

I have fond memories of tapes.

9 thoughts on “Tape deck

Add yours

  1. Making mix CDs is one of mah favo tingz en the entire world! So many songs/themes! Then I give them as giftz to those I deem special enough to deserve my musical influence.

  2. Yep, me too. Tapes in the car, which doesn’t have a cd player, but no tape player in the house. I used to use them to record the tracks from the chart show that used to be on Radio 1 on a Sunday (I know it still is, but it’s not the same). But not before listening to the live charts in the week and making a note of all the tracks I liked!

  3. Daphne – yes, they are like time capsules!

    Ryan – yeh, reminds me of days gone by, for sure.

    Josh – I have made 1 or 2 CDs but not for many years.

    Sarah – yeh, I also used to record the radio many moons ago!

    Sven – yeh, is fun when that happens. I don’t mind that tapes were more fiddly to use – there was something fun about it. Liking the t-shirt!

  4. A mix tape was never quite the same when you had to make it on a CD…
    Our car has a tapedeck – the closest thing it’s seen to a tape is the ipod adaptor.

  5. Tapes? I prefer records. Although I only have four (Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours, Joni Mitchell’s Court and Spark, and Elton John’s Greatest Hits from ’74). I want more! Music sounds better coming out of a record player than my iPod headphones.

  6. Vic – yeh, when I was growing up doing mix tapes, the CD was only just coming out and you couldn’t record onto them then.

    Enrico – I think I only bought one vinyl album and that was Madonna (True Blue) in the late 80s.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

