I want to be

I want to be in a job where remuneration isn’t the key metric of ‘success’.

I want to be surrounded by close friends, rather than in a huge, impersonal city with neighbours I don’t even know or speak to.

I want to be abroad. Not because I dislike the UK. But because I think more highly of it and value it when I’m overseas.

I want to be in a job where the raison d’etre isn’t simply to maximise shareholder value.

I want to be living with either A.N.Other or others, rather than on my own.

I want to be 10 lbs lighter than I am now. With more muscle and less flab.

I want to be in a LTR (long term relationship) with an SO (significant other).

I want to be grateful for what I have rather than constantly aspiring for something that I don’t have.

I want to be less introspective, to stop dissecting my life and over focusing on the less good things about it.

I want to be grateful that I’ve got a solid, fairly senior, well paid job with a really good company – rather than frustrated that it’s not my ‘dream dream job’ which may not exist.

I want to be closer to my family.

I want to be better at staying in touch with old friends. To be less aloof, less self-centred, an attribute derived from too much time on my own.

I want to be abroad. Anywhere really. Canada, Australia, South America. Anywhere.

I want to be less obsessed with that which is experiential. I crave ‘life experiences’ which means craving constant change and being unaccepting of the status quo.

I want to be less governed, minded and motivated by my dysfunctional childhood. I moved so many times over the first 10 years of my life. 4 countries, I don’t recall how many schools, how many houses.

I want to be fit again. I want to be able to run, row, cycle and pump weights like I did 1-2 years ago.

I want to be less reliant on alcohol as a means of winding down and relaxing.

I want to be in a place where I no longer think about him. At all.

I want to be able to look in the mirror without scowling through narrowed eyes at the person looking back at me.

I want to be profoundly happy, well adjusted and totally accepting and grateful of my lot in life.

8 thoughts on “I want to be

Add yours

  1. How about you and me we move to the west coast of the United States where the sun shines and we can get in shape? What do you think?

  2. I think you should try putting them in order of importance and then work on them one at a time – – though if you get them in the right order, that may happen anyway – – –

  3. “I want to be less introspective, to stop dissecting my life and over focusing on the less good things about it.”

    To dish back your Twitter comment to me from earlier…

    “I know the feeling our kid!”

  4. Ryan – oh I’d like to, believe me! Want to try and get a job (from here) that will take me overseas first, rather than turning up and trying to find something which would be pretty tough I reckon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

