In love with Aslan (Becker by Gabo)

boris becker gabo portrait photo

This portrait of Boris Becker by German photographer (she’s the female version of Annie Leibovitz) – Gabo, has long been a favourite of mine.

And I had a huge thing about BB as a teenager. I used to love watching Wimbledon in the early 90s as a kid. There was something about him I could never quite put my finger on. He was simmering and strong and manly and primal and aloof and surly. He was Alexander the Great and I wanted to be Hephaestion… “one soul biding in two bodies” (Aristotle). ‘Nuff said.

Nowadays I have little interest, I should perhaps add, in either him or tennis.

Anyway, it’s an amazing photo. The lighting, the expression, the colours. The lion-like quality of the sitter. I love it.

16 thoughts on “In love with Aslan (Becker by Gabo)

  1. I agree, it’s a stunning photo. I still like tennis though don’t watch as much as I’d like to. I did meet Rod Laver briefly once – – another redhead – – and was very star-struck.

  2. That is a stunning photo. Though I never really thought of Boris Becker that way before. I have had my tennis crushes, but he was never one of them.

    I love your classicist reference, btw. I’m a huge classicist nerd myself. Ὁ βίος βραχὺς, ἡ δὲ τέχνη μακρὴ. 🙂

  3. I once exercised in the gym next to Boris Becker (this was in the early 90s). I had never given him much thought before, but firstly the man is huge, and secondly seriously charismatic: the animal magnetism was palpable. Since then, I have more understanding for that Russian hussy that ambushed him in a walk-in closet…

  4. Daphne – I’d like to meet a tennis player but haven’t yet. One of the old school though (like Laver), rather than the new breed.

    Justin – I couldn’t read that! I’m not that much of a classicist but I went to an excellent Hadrian exhibition at the British Museum a few years ago and was totally fascinated. Hadn’t’ even realised he was gay.

    Enrico – not sure. Amazing though, aren’t they!

    MrsBN – you have good taste!

    Fistu – ah, that’s quite something. I’d love to see him up close and personal. I have seen that animal magnetism first-hand in others and it’s genuinely amazing to behold.

    Josh – aghhh! You know how to make a person feel old! He was a big fish in the late 80s early 90s. Dominated men’s tennis.

  5. Justin – LOL! I guess I should qualify that. I just mean that he doesn’t really do it for me now – probably because we’re both so much older. Plus, I once put him on something of a pedestal but don’t now. I’m also not so keen on how he looks now.

  6. *screams*

    Yeah, no argument there. (Me? Shallow much?)

    The “we’re both so much older” part is a good save, btw! 🙂 I’ll let you get away with it 😉 That’s just because I’m such a nice guy!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

