Vignettes – 04/06/10

Summer is upon us. A long, hot glorious day of very sunny weather.

A good day at work. Days like today remind me why I like my colleagues (a lot) and the company itself. Sure, I complain. I’ve always been the type that wants more than they have, rarely being satisfied with their lot in life. Deep down I want something else – to be living abroad, to not be in professional services. Etc. But if you do want to live in the capital and you do want a good job – this is actually a really good place to work. It’s a preferences thing, I suppose. Deep down I want adventure and life experience which is not the same as a safe, good job.

I did a viewing early afternoon. First modern property I’ve looked at. Was soulless. Had a gym in the basement, the building was portered, etc, but it was sterile. Would have been like living in a Holiday Inn.

I put an offer in for the one I really liked yesterday. I don’t expect to get it as my top offer is quite a bit under the asking price and I’m sure the owner will be able to get more. The only thing going for me is that I could move in immediately (and it’s just become vacant). But even so. Over the course of a year the owner is likely to want someone who can pay more. But I can’t budge on what I’ve offered.

I have 4 viewings tomorrow morning, starting at 9.30am. I’m really looking forward to finding the right place. Getting the offer accepted, leaving zone 3 and moving to zone 1 and moving on with my life. Soon. I tell myself.

Drinks after work with colleagues. A wine bar we always go to. A convivial evening.

And the night is balmy. Even with the window open there is no breeze. Tomorrow it could get to 29c and storms are on the way.

2 thoughts on “Vignettes – 04/06/10

Add yours

  1. Why do you want to live abroad? What better country is there to live in? šŸ™‚

    I have to say, though, the British reluctance to use air conditioning is a drag. It gets way too humid there and it gets hotter than it used to. 29c is *WAY* too hot not to have a/c. Britain is an island and just a wet place. If it weren’t so humid it wouldn’t be so bad. The last time I was there, it was over 30c in our hotel room in Edinburgh in late September and the windows wouldn’t open more than about an inch crack. There wasn’t so much as a fan, let alone a/c. And the few businesses that had them were using radically underpowered ones for their size and number of clientele. The tube in London was an oven. šŸ˜›

    Have fun at the wine bar tonight! For some reason this is making me think of episodes of Coupling šŸ™‚

  2. Justin – I want to live abroad again because it’s in my blood and my need for experiencing life I can’t get from staying put in any one thing or place for too long.

    Yeh, we don’t have much a/c at all here. The really uncomfortable periods tend to be quite short spells though, thankfully.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

