Hotel Inntel by Wilfried van Winden

The craziest hotel I ever did see. That said, it sure beats some of the bland 3* hotels in London which are completely soulless.

hotel-inntel-zaandam-1.jpeg

(via design-milk)

Also a Guardian article on it:

Can this be real? I’m in Zaandam, near Amsterdam, standing in front of a hotel that looks like a pileup of traditional Dutch houses, all grafted together in bright greens and blues, their pediments, gables, windows and roofs pulling and pushing at my eyes.

My mind is not, however, playing tricks on me. And no, this is not an April Fool. This is the Hotel Inntel Zaandam, a madcap fairytale of a building. In fact, this 12-storey structure is, for a while, hard to take in. It looks like a trick, a conjuring act, as if some maverick architect ran off to join the circus, and learned how to balance one building on top of another, possibly while riding a bike. It’s a stupefying, funny, delightful building ā€“ a quirky addition to the skyline of Zaandam, capital of the Zaanstad region and a town best known (until now) for its cocoa, biscuits and Europe’s first McDonald’s.

“I didn’t set out to shock,” says Wilfried van Winden, chief architect of WAM, the Delft-based practice behind it. “But this is, of course, an outspoken building. And the language it speaks is the architectural language of Zaanstad. It makes a big statement, sure, but the building is not an imposition ā€“ it belongs here.” All the facades you see, explains the architect, are based on traditional Zaanstad houses. “From a stately notary’s dwelling,” he says, “to workers’ cottages.” Van Winden’s favourite is a re-creation, high up, of a blue house that features in a work by Claude Monet, painted during a trip to Zaandam.

11 thoughts on “Hotel Inntel by Wilfried van Winden

Add yours

  1. It’s not often that I like modern architecture. And by modern I mean pretty much anything much later than the mid-1800s. In fact I’m a horrible luddite when it comes to architecture: I love almost all architectural styles from 3,000 bc through most of the 19th century and hate almost all architectural styles since.

    With rare exceptions (art deco for instance — the Chrysler Building in NYC is beautiful), I think most modern architecture and design is soul-destroying, Stalinesque, and dehumanizing. I would be thrilled if almost all of it were bulldozed into rubble. It amazes me that people have been able to build architecture to last for thousands of years and remain beautiful forever — I truly believe that in a few centuries, people will look on the 20th century as a period of deep architectural gloom.

    “didn’t set out to shock” is something I refuse to believe of most architects. I think that’s *precisely* what most are setting out to do — they are all rushing to do something new and shocking. It’s tiresome. Buildings that are actually comfortable to be in or nice to look at are never the aim.

    This, however, I really love. šŸ™‚

  2. UV – agreed!

    Bookjunkie – agreed!

    Mancais – thanks!

    Justin – I like the older styles but occasionally a new building comes along that I like.

  3. I love this. For some reason it reminds me of old Tudor buildings. The only bit that spoils it is the porch/conservatory jobby in the third picture. Looks out of keeping somehow.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

