This is it

my new home

my new home

my new home

my new home

So D-Day finally came. Yesterday. I moved home. I left amorphous zone 3 suburbia (where I’d lived for 8 years), swapping it for a residential district of zone 1 – in Westminster, central London. It was quite a busy day.

After having taken Friday off work, to pack, I was mostly ready by the time my removal man came. He’d surveyed what I was moving in advance and we’d agreed a ‘man and van’ option would be fine. And he was very good. The pick up from Sheridan’s was straight forward as we’d taken all the stuff downstairs and it was just a case of it being carried to the removals van outside which the guy did most of.

I bade farewell to Sheridan and hopped into ‘the wagon’ and we drove to Westminster. Was an easy drive, 35 mins or so. We arrived at noon and I called the agent who was over very shortly with the key. We had a look around the flat (immaculate) and went over a few final details. J – the remover, began bringing stuff in. Bear in mind my flat is 3 storeys up and this an old Regency townhouse with very high ceilings, much higher than in contemporary properties – so it’s a fair number of stairs (and no lift!).

As we started bringing the stuff in I met the owner/landlady who had wanted to greet me on my arrival. She is some kind of European (English/French/Italian) dowager-type but very nice. She owns the entire property, several of the apartments are occupied by family (relatives of hers), the rest are let. She said her grandparents had bought the house ‘after the war’ and they’d lived here ever since. She also spends much of the year at her house on the Cote d’Azur in France. Anyway, she is evidently minted (the house can’t be worth less than £3.5 – £4 million) as it is HUGE and rather grand like all of the properties here) but she was very unpretentious and quite down to earth. Asked a lot about me. She stressed often that it is very much a ‘family house’ and not like most rental properties (and you can tell this from how high quality the communal areas are, quite unlike the vast majority of properties I’d seen with their down-at-heel, highly trafficked communal areas). And she seemed quite buzzy, saying if I ever need to borrow more sets of keys (I already have 2 sets) for “friends who might want to stay over” or suchlike, just to ask her. She said there were often drinks parties on the terrace and that I “must come along to those where you can meet everyone else, lots of people your age” (!).

She also struck me as quite uncommercial (i.e. she doesn’t really need the money). I am convinced I am paying less than the market rate for this as the rent includes council tax, heating, hot water and the footprint is a really good size compared with most of what I saw, many of which were box-like. On the council tax issue alone I will save around £800 a year. She also said that if I want to buy anything for the flat (that I would leave behind when I moved on), to just go ahead and buy it – give her the receipts at a later date and she’ll take it off the rent.

I guess it all just seems terribly civilized. So much of the London property scene is dominated by profiteers and racketeers and you really have to watch yourself. This just doesn’t feel like that. I met some of her relatives who have apartments here – who seemed very nice. I also met some others, mostly Italian and French who live in smaller studio flats with shared facilities on the top floor. She lets those privately ‘mostly to the children of European friends’. So the whole place has a very strong continental European feel to it – which I of course quite like. This would be in contrast to, say, the multiple-occupancy-by-Antipodeans model that you’d find in places like Earls Court. It’s just a different model, really. There are also a huge number of MPs living in the area (the Houses of Parliament are about 10-15 mins walk away). So all in all, I experience it as refined but without feeling stuffy, high-end without being pretentious.

Whilst the flat came part-furnished, I’ll need to get more stuff for it. I want to be able to have people round a lot and I’ll need another sofa or 2 small armchairs to sit opposite the existing (only) sofa. The existing sofa is ‘OK’ (it’s a sofabed) but definitely needs a scattering of decent cushions as a minimum.

In the kitchen, whilst there is a kettle, toaster and microwave – there’s not much else. I brought my own pots and pans but I need cutlery and crockery now. There are some odds and sods in the cupboard but certainly not an adequate amount. That said, the kitchen is well specced (especially compared with a lot of places I saw). Full size fridge/freezer, loads of cupboards, new-ish looking oven/hob (albeit ceramic rather than gas).

The bedroom is OK but – though a quite reasonable in size – the storage isn’t out of this world. Smallish chest of drawers (looks fairly low end), 1 built in wardrobe and 1 bedside chest of drawers. The room would really benefit from a big full-size antique chest of drawers like I left behind at my own flat. So we’ll see, I may just have to get something from Ikea. If I leave it behind it will come off the rent, anyway.

Bathroom is OK, not much to speak of. Used the shower today and it’s fine.

The only slight issue I need to get used to is that there is much more noise living in zone 1 compared with zone 3. Actually, that’s a bit misleading. The real issue for the noise is that there is a significantly busy road at the end of the street and you certainly can hear the traffic throughout the day. I’m hoping and assuming it will fade as I get used to it. I’ve just been used to living in very quiet areas. Also, at this time of year with the large sash windows thrown wide open, it’s no wonder you can hear everything outside. But all property is a compromise somewhere. The flat itself is stunning – from the high ceilings to the plantation shutters, to the immaculate stucco exterior and pristine communal areas.

So I had my first visitors last night – close friends from work (a couple). They absolutely loved the flat, especially the female colleague. They pay the same price for a 1 bed in Waterloo (which I’ve been to) and there really is very little to compare the two properties. There’s is much smaller, has been getting extremely hot in this weather, doesn’t have the period features and high ceilings that this one has and it’s basically just a run of the mill conversion flat on a back street behind the station. Very convenient location wise, but not for much else…I’m now trying to persuade them to move nearer to me!

Anyway, we went out for dinner. A convivial local Indian. S doesn’t eat Indian food (which I love) so for me, it’s something of a treat. Inevitably we talk work quite a bit, but even so, it is an enjoyable evening. From the restaurant we went on to a local pub that I guess may be my ‘local’. The rounds seemed on the expensive side (£12-£13 for 3 drinks – 2 pints of Peroni and 1 large white wine) but it was very pleasant, quite quiet – just the type of pub I like. I hate those really busy, West End type places where you have to queue to get a drink and you can’t get a seat. Hate them! So for me, Local London is always a far better choice when it comes to drinking and eating out. Leave the Centre to the tourists and the outer-suburbs people (I’m talking zone 4+) who come in for a ‘night on the town’.

Today was a little bit of a right-off as I felt very rough this morning and of course, no pain killers were to be found. I really didn’t think I’d had that much to drink last night (for me!) but I’d had so little to eat and had been pretty dehydrated all day too – a bad combination when you then start on the booze. And I slept badly, waking at 6am to the sound of cars as I’d left my bedroom window wide open. Am hoping I sleep better tonight.

Tomorrow morning will be my first commute! It’s what, one or two miles? If that. Be interesting to see how long it takes. Planning to go by bus and give up the tube.

10 thoughts on “This is it

  1. LOVE IT! And I love high ceilings! You must have me over for tea one day.

    And I think the noise will fade. I lived right next to a train station for years and after a bit, my mind completely tuned it out. Friends would point out the sounds and I would be surprised to hear them! Though honestly, I like living in a crowded area, knowing that life is going on around me.

    Congrats!

  2. Justin – wait until you see it finished! Got LOTS more accoutrements to sort yet!

    Lula – hmm, not that close. The Sainsbury’s ‘Market’ in central Pimlico is pretty good though. Actually very big (amazing as it’s so close to the centre) and huge wine range, importantly. It is about as far away as you could get from a suburban Tesco, for example. That said, I think there is a Waitrose across the way in Belgravia which borders Pimlico.

    Enrico – thanks! Yeh, the high ceilings are wonderful, makes the place feel spacious, light and airy. Yup, the noise has started to fade in the 3 or so days I’ve been here. I love the fact I’m so close to everything which is a good feeling.

  3. Can’t wait to see the finished product. High ceilings are AWESOME. One reason I bought my house was the ceilings are almost 9′ high. And believe me, it’s hard to find bookcases that make full use of that height. And they’re expensive. I have so many unshelved books that I need bookcases that maximize their use of the space. We scored about 8 years ago or so when a local antiquarian bookstore went out of business. We snagged floor-to-ceiling bookcases that *exactly* fit the width of two sides of our guest bedroom and more that exactly fit the width of both sides of our third-floor hallway. The guest-room shelves are deep and hold hardbacks; the hallway shelves are shallow and hold paperbacks. Still have piles of unshelved books everywhere tho 😛

  4. Dear Neighbour,
    Welcome, nice place you have there, photos look great.
    The TateBritain, gallery is the best thing in the neighbourhood.
    Except pehaps the ever-changing river; you are lucky to have a nice reserve park at the end of your street, with beautiful trees and statues, the sea wall is a bit high but it is lovely to see the tide coming in and the later the stoney beach.
    Take some ear plugs if you wish to sit on the park benches.
    .
    Right around the corner is the Dolphin Squrare aparment building, there are some shops in there a gym with a pool and a Lloyds Bank branch.
    .
    There is a dawn-to-dusk public riverside walk, hidden from the pavement that takes you along the whole river front.
    Hidden from view in the basment of the flats across the river there are places to dine, these are all new business, views of big ben and the powerstation.
    The best waitrose in the area is Bloomsbury, otherwise the Kings Road is quite close to where you are, and there is a little bus that goes there, from the end of your block, no. 360.
    .
    If you have spare time, then you could visit St. James’s Park, which is easy to access if you go from your house via Vincent Square (playing field of Westmister Abbey School) then via Stretham Ground (the oldest market) then cross the road past St. James’s Park tube station and down by Old Queen Street, into the center of the Park near the Blue Bridge over the Lake. (a mile each way)
    You can get to Fortnum & Mason and Hatchard’s Bookshop, easliy from there, the least hussle and bussle way from your place; not going via Victoria.
    .
    It is said that more people go daily to Victoria than go to Heathrow.

    Cheers.
    from,
    del-boy.

    • How’s things in the neighbourhood, so far?
      Any regrets; thinking of returning to south of the river for the peace and quiet?
      .
      Did you ever WALK all that way to the lovely St.James’s Park with some olden bread rusks for the ducks?
      .
      I saw some lovely flowers near your house, in August, which were commemorating the life of a student from the local school, who passed away; all tied-on to the front fence, like your house’s fence; smelt nice.
      .
      Happy holidays from,
      del-boy
      December 15th, 2011

Leave a Reply

