Saturday

Had friends over for lunch which was good. Showing them the new place for the first time. Both remarked, separately “it feels so very… London”. Which is quite apt.

We went to Tate Britain (a 10-15 minute walk from the flat) which, embarrassingly, I hadn’t been to before. I had really wanted to see ‘Jaguar and Harrier’, by Fiona Banner – an exhibition I’ve blogged about on a previous occasion. It didn’t disappoint. Quite incredible seeing two jet fighters that had seen service in the first Iraq war. One is lying upside down, belly-up – the other is dangled from the ceiling. Powerful human instruments to behold and rightly able to press my ‘Top Gun’ button.

A few photos I took:

fiona banner harrier and jaguar tate britain

fiona banner jaguar and harrier tate britain

fiona banner harrier and jaguar tate britain

fiona banner jaguar and harrier tate britain

fiona banner jaguar and harrier tate britain

The Thames isn’t far from where I now live. You look south onto Vauxhall. MI6 headquarters is the building on the left.

vauxhall nine elms mi6

Pimlico:

pimlico

pimlico

6 thoughts on “Saturday

Add yours

  1. It’s ALL very London! Whenever I visit London it does seem very different. I enjoy visiting but I don’t think I’d like to live there – although I live in Leeds, I think I’m a suburban gal at heart with definite leanings towards countryside. Thank you for the interesting photos.

  2. Daphne – you’re welcome! My relationship with London can best be described as very love/hate. Feel strongly that I’m ready for a change but that’s not been forthcoming (yet).

    Enrico – haha, I would if it were mine! Am only renting. Unless you mean my own flat (out in zone 3) which is far less salubrious!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

