Pomp & Circumstance

Yesterday I’d arranged to meet friends as we were heading to Marlborough House which is just off the Mall. I suggested that we meet first outside Buckingham Palace.

I hadn’t counted on just how busy it would be. In a previous job I would walk past Buckingham Palace most evenings, from Green Park to Victoria. A pleasant walk. It would rarely be busy late afternoon. But Saturday morning, well, I now see that’s a quite different story… and what with the Papal visit and London Fashion Week, this city seems to have been crazy busy all weekend.

So as I had the camera I took a short video:

And a few photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s quite fun being a tourist in your own city!

6 thoughts on “Pomp & Circumstance

Add yours

  1. That’s always what the crowds have been at B. Palace every time I’ve been near there … Granted even when I’ve stayed in London for a month or more at a time (one time in a flat just behind Abby Road Studios in St. John’s Wood, where my mother used to record) even when I did “touristy things” I have to say the Palace was not one of my prime visiting spots. But I seem to have more or less accidentally found myself there on more than one occasion and it’s *always* been a madhouse like that 🙂

  2. I haven’t been to London in a while, just don’t seem to have time at the moment, the last time I stood at the gates of BP was laying flowers when Princess Di died!

    I’m going to try and get tickets for Wicked before Christmas. That’s my present to myself!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

