Merry Christmas

I’m at home with the family where I spend every Christmas. As a child I had very large Christmases where we would stay over with our relatives – often 15-20+ people. Very fond memories of those years.  And they were always traditional. Tradition is still a big part of our family Christmas and not much has changed over the years. My father is abroad so we will Skype him later. We now see the relatives we grew up with on either Boxing Day or the 27th, which we’re doing.

Now I’m grown up – there’s no more church on Christmas day – but we do accompany my mother to midnight mass on Christmas Eve.

On Christmas morning we’ll have a big breakfast – usually scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, bucks fizz. Then we open some presents. Then off to mother’s other half’s to spend most of the day as one large family. No turkey, we tend to have a prime cut of beef or some years a goose. He’s a gastronome so the meal is a big deal that will go on for several hours. I tend to do the driving and I actually don’t mind foregoing the booze.

After that, toward the end of the day, we’ll then go to my brother’s best friend from school’s parents (headmaster and teacher) for parlour games with their family and neighbours (!). We do it most years. It may sound like a bind but it’s actually quite good fun.

By the end of the day I’ll be completely exhausted. I wouldn’t know what a quiet Christmas is like because I have never in my life had one.

Anyway – a Merry Christmas to all.

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

Add yours

  1. That sounds exhausting but a *LOT* of fun! 🙂

    Amusingly I only just learned two days ago that “Bucks Fizz” is the British term for Mimosas 🙂 Love those! 🙂 ❤

    I wish you a very Merry Christmas, M 🙂

    Justin 🙂

  2. Justin – thank you, has been pretty good overall. Back up to London the day after tomorrow. Will miss the creature comforts of home cooked food etc but starting to get bored also! Never heard of Mimosas! Merry Christmas to you too!

  3. The Merry Christmas image looks like it belongs to The Wreckers! lol.

    Merry Belated Christmas! I hate Christmas Eve and Christmas this year, and hope you had a better time!

  4. I just learned that Mimosas are called “Buck’s Fizzes” in the UK 🙂

    Enrico – you hated Christmas? 😦 I think you have a blog post I haven’t read yet – I’ll go look and see if you explain why 😦

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

