Goodbye to all that

goodbye to all that robert graves

I’ve enjoyed reading this autobiography (much of which is based on the author’s experience of WWI – a subject I have a continuing morbid fascination with). Thank you to D over at Rattling On who recommended the book. Yes – it was right up my street. Reminded me a lot of that other great war poet whose work I really covet – Siegfried Sassoon. Of his I read, years ago, Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man, Memoirs of an Infantry Officer and possibly, though I’m not sure if I did read the final one – Sherston’s Progress. And of course his War poems.

Next up on my reading list is The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest (I have developed an unhealthy obsession with Everest and K2 in recent years), then (if I can get it from the library, all copies seem to be constantly out) – Toast: The Story of a Boy’s Hunger (having adored the recent BBC4 television adaptation), then Any Human Heart, the Channel4 TV adaptation of which entirely captivated me.

What are you reading right now?

5 thoughts on “Goodbye to all that

  1. That book is a classic. By the way I’m sure you must know already that Robert Graves was also the author of I, Claudius and Claudius the God.

    Speaking of WWI — did you ever get around to seeing War Horse in the West End?

  2. Justin – no, I’ve still not got round to seeing it! I want to though. Yes, I heard he was the author of IC but I haven’t read, watched or listened to it. I think I might be interested to now, though.

  3. Sorry it’s taken so long to comment… life took a bit of an unpleasant turn. So glad you liked the book. I too have a fascination with the Great War and have many books on the subject.

  4. Pingback: Rupert Brooke - The Year Zero

Leave a Reply

