When four eyes are better than two

vintage glasses

So I went and had an eye test for the first time since 2003.

It transpires that I have a mild case of short-sightedness. I can, just, make out the bottom line on the screen. But it’s very blurry. As the optician fiddled with different lenses… suddenly the bottom line was crystal clear.

He suggested I wear glasses for driving, cinema, theatre, etc. I don’t need them for work. I only need them when needing to focus for extended periods on items in the distance (i.e. driving).

I don’t drive these days. But I do cycle. Principles aren’t dissimilar.

So I’ve started trying on frames. Tried on some rather fashionable Prada ones. Quite solid black frames but not the really rectangular ones as I don’t find they suit me. I preferred the slightly bigger (old fashioned?) style. I guess something old-fashioned “we danced all night” vintage would always be what I’d end up going for. There was also a Paul Smith pair that I rather liked.

No super rush. Will probably wait for the January sales to bite the bullet. Through one of our benefits at work I will get £50 off; better than nothing.

What with my imminent appointment at the salon (which is a step-up from the barber for a ‘re-style’) – it seems my whole image is changing. Not such a bad thing as the effort I’ve expended on ‘my look’ thus far is minimal. I haven’t had my hair cut in almost 2 months and it’s very thick and bouffant-like, similar to Hugh Grant in Four Weddings (and just to be clear, that’s where the similarities begin and end!).

4 thoughts on “When four eyes are better than two

Add yours

  1. Laughed at your ‘that’s where the similarities end’ quip.
    No love child via Asian lady?
    LA police record for ‘relations’ with Divine Brown?
    Whining to Press Complaints people? LOL.

    I hope that which ever frames you get in the sales have a warranty.
    i know from my son’s experience that the mark up on frames is RIDICULOUS and over here some ‘designer ones’ have very limited warranties.

    Welcome to ‘needing help’ years. A friend of mine was explaining her Lasik treatment to me last week – let’s just say I’ll take the reading glasses for now!

  2. You can get some bargains buying specs online if you know what you want.
    I had LASIK 10 years ago and it was one of the best things I ever did. Expensive at the time but worth it for the freedom from contact lenses.

  3. Birdy – yeh, have seen that the mark-up is crazy!

    Daphne – agreed. Part of me is quite looking forward to having them.

    Mancais – I kind of know what I want but need to try on more.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

