2011 – goodbye to all that

In years gone by I have been minded – as we stand at the dawn of a new year – to indulge in something of an autopsy on the year gone by. I don’t feel particularly inclined to do that this year; it hasn’t been a great year overall.

A few things that do stand out, include:

A health scare at the beginning of the year (which ultimately turned out to be a false alarm).

The failure of my secondment to the New York office which I had been so fired up about; having been approved and the ball rolling, it became the victim of an internal re-org and changes in leadership. This has left a bitterness and resentment on my part that can only be assuaged by an exit to pastures new. I’m now at the 3 year mark. It’s been a great innings, great people and I’m pleased with everything I’ve achieved, but… I’ve been there, done it and got the t-shirt. Onwards and upwards (and preferably – outwards).

Relationships? Ha. Very little to write home about. There was someone who stood out, but in the end, the spark didn’t burn quite brightly enough.

In terms of getting out of the UK it was a better year. Five holidays overseas (two were for weddings). And speaking of weddings, I enjoyed the Royal Wedding – a once in a generation event, amidst the madding crowd.

What else was good? Hmm. I started cycling in the autumn and have never really looked back. And I can finally bid farewell to Boris Bikes having bitten the bullet and bought a bike today (it’s being built and will be ready for me next week); can’t wait!

On the cultural side it was a good year for theatre and music. Numerous Proms, musicals and theatre productions (and quite a lot already planned for the new year).

I read 22 books. Having the Kindle helped. I do think I’ve really re-discovered the joy of reading. Of course, I’ve never really not read – but I’ve just read a lot more this year.

Anyway, Happy New Year – hope 2012 is a good one!

3 thoughts on “2011 – goodbye to all that

Add yours

  1. It was great meeting you ‘for real’ this year too….
    We all find out something about ourselves each year…..
    Who knows where we’ll all be by 2012……
    (written from down the road from you….soon to be on the other side of the world again).

    Can’t wait to see a photo of the bike!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

