The night is so pretty and so young

When I lived in Japan we did karaoke very frequently. It’s different to doing it in the West. In Japan, you go to proper karaoke ‘parlours’.

Every booth was themed, ranging from jungle book to something space age. You’d pick from a big screen thing which dimmed the themed rooms already taken.

The parlours, like bars in Japan, were invariably on upper floors of ‘office’ buildings. They don’t have pub or recreation venues at ground level the way we have them in the West.

I loved karaoke. I’ve never really got into it in the UK. But in Japan we did it all the time. We’d get hammered on Asahi or Kirin. I even sang Japanese songs (I’ve since forgotten the hiragana and katakana that I knew back then – which I needed to read the songs). We’d invariably cycle home in the small hours, totally smashed. It feels like a lifetime ago… such fond memories.

As a huge Roxette fan this was always a favourite (along with Sting’s ‘Englishman In New York’ and a few other steadfast songs from the likes of Blur, Oasis and Pulp that were part of my repertoire).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

