Hummus, again

This is now the third time I have tried making it and I’m very happy with the results:

  • 1x tin of chickpeas, drained
  • 3x cloves of garlic, peeled and either chopped or crushed
  • 1x med tablespoon of peanut butter (any kind will do)
  • 1x med tablespoon of tahini (you can buy this from supermarkets or Indian shops. The new one I bought, pictured, is from the local Arabic shop, imported from Lebanon. Am looking forward to trying it. The pictures above are made using the stuff from Tesco).
  • 1/2x lemon, juice of
  • 1/2x teaspoon of cumin. Add more if you like.
  • 1x lvl teaspoon of salt (like most people I don’t like adding lots of salt, however, without enough salt – hummus can be bland)
  • 1/2x teaspoon of crushed chilli OR cayenne pepper OR (ideally smoked) paprika. Add more if you like. I used crushed chilli.

Throw into a mini food processor and whiz until smooth. Alternatively, don’t whiz it too much if you prefer it chunky with more texture.

Delicious and will keep in the fridge for three or so days. Great as a snack with warm pita bread, chopped carrots, celery, or tortilla chips, on crackers, Ryvita, etc. I’m not a nutritionist but as snack food goes – it’s fairly healthy I think!

I prefer the taste of this recipe, above, compared with the version I made a month ago (which had no peanut butter and much more tahini in it, plus yoghurt).

Recipe inspired, in part, from The Guardian one.

3 thoughts on “Hummus, again

  1. I have some Sainsbury’s hummus in my fridge at the moment, but have nothing with which to dip. Must rectify. Never tried making it myself but I do love the M&S one with whole chickpeas on the top which is probably about as home made style as I can get.

  2. RO – Thank you, came out well in the end!

    SM – Can’t go wrong with M&S stuff (do try their San Fran sourdough, vvvvvvvvvvvvvvv good). Do try your own too though, so easy to make!

Leave a Reply

