Five days on, two days off

pea on plate
Lunch?

So I’ve gone on to something of a diet for the first time in ages. It seems I’ve gained 10 lbs since the beginning of the year. Quite how – I’m not sure. In truth, my exercise regime has been non-existent for quite some months now; a shame. I had got into swimming a while back and I was still doing the odd run – but at the moment, nothing. And of course I don’t cycle every day like I used to when I was in full-time work.

So I’m now trying the ‘Fast Diet‘, aka the 5:2 diet. The premise is very simple. You eat normally 5 days a week and on two (non-consecutive) days you ‘fast’  – which means restricting yourself to about 600 calories if you’re a man and 500 if you’re a woman. That is not a lot of calories.

So my fasting days are Monday/Thursday. I don’t calorie count specifically, but the hunger pangs certainly remind me that I’m consuming next to nothing! Take yesterday – a small bowl of muelsli with unsweetened soya milk for breakfast. Lunch consisted of a miso soup (about 30 calories), 2 sticks of celery (about 8 calories each) and a carrot. And that’s that. Dinner was ratatouille (on it’s own; on a normal day I would have that with rice). I had a handful of cherries after dinner and I had had a banana mid-afternoon. No alcohol, no carbs. So I’m not sure exactly what the calorie count was, suffice to say it’s really very low compared with what I would usually eat.

And it’s OK. The good thing about fasting only two days of the week means, rather obviously, that you’re not fixating about food or feeling miserable all week! I still maintain – as I have always maintained – that a healthy lifestyle that includes exercise 2-3 times a week is the only sure-fire way to lose weight and keep it off. But for whatever reason (probably a lack of routine due to being self-employed) – I can’t get myself back into an exercise regime just at the moment. So this will have to do for now.

I’ve only been on it a week but already feel a noticeable reduction around the waist. Bear in mind I’m not looking to lose a huge amount; 10 lbs will be fine. So that’s about 5 weeks worth. Fairly doable.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

