Feast and famine

This 5:2 diet (aka The Fast Diet) that I have blogged about before is just so weird. You yo-yo between eating virtually nothing two days a week – which I am getting used to – and then feeling like a pig at the trough on your 5 days off. At least, that’s what it feels like. Maybe I’m not actually eating a crazy amount on those 5 days, but the day following fasting day makes me feel like I am eating a boat-load. I suppose 2000 calories vs 600 calories is a boat-load in contrast, so it’s no wonder I feel like that.

The fasting days themselves are surprisingly OK. One ends up feeling deeply pious. For me it taps into that ‘messiah complex‘ that I’ve blogged about in the past. You feel… parsimonious, pious, saintly, righteous, austere. All those sorts of things.

Time will tell if it’s going to pay off. I think it’s only been 2-3 weeks so far. I haven’t got on the scales in a week or so but I think I will at the end of this week.

Tonight I have a cheese & wine to go which will be anything but pious…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

