The gift of giving

P1040362 P1040361

Prior to visiting friends or family we can all so very easily walk into a shop, say a supermarket such as Tesco or Sainsbury, and spend say £5.99 on some half price wine and then hand that over on our arrival. Our little contribution.

But home-made stuff – whether it’s food, clothing, jewellery – anything at all so long as it is home made – is soooo much more meaningful, both for the giver and the receiver.

I appreciate that this sentiment sounds a little ‘holier than thou’ – but as someone who has morphed from shelling out a few quid on chocolate/wine when visiting friends/family – to instead MAKING something, and seeing people’s faces light up, it’s safe to say I am now a convert. Spending money on something is meaningless. Making something by hand, however, is not.

Context: I spent the weekend with family, baked 2 loaves of bread to take down, one of which was for direct family, the other for aunt/uncle – and they were all v.chuffed. Added to which it tastes d*mn good, if I do say so myself.

2 thoughts on “The gift of giving

Add yours

  1. I understand what you mean but I think you might want to reconsider the use of ‘meaningless’ in relation to spending money on a ‘gift’ when visiting. Given that many times there can be a lack of time and a lack of craft making skills, buying something is still much more meaningful than going empty handed……and I’d certainly like to think my hosts appreciated the thought.

    1. Yeh, I guess I was really meaning in that specific example of me going to someone’s house for dinner and being on auto-pilot when buying something. In those situations the item I bring doesn’t really have meaning; it’s a formality and most of the time will hardly be looked at. But yeh, other gift giving, especially when thoughtful, is a different matter!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

