“Which should I leave first, Twitter or Facebook?”

A good piece by Paul Mason, BBC correspondent, who I have always liked. In his article he asks which service he should leave first – Twitter or Facebook. And yes, I think he’s being serious.

Let’s see: I left Twitter 14 months ago and have no regrets (it was like giving up smoking, you feel like you’re missing out at first but over time, you realise that you’re really not). Facebook is different. I value the fact that I have some old/long-lost friends on there who I would have no means of contacting without it. So I guess I see it as a ‘Friends Reunited v2.’ type thing. But do not even begin to get me started on what I don’t like about FB (which is why I am so, so rarely on it). And interestingly – those ‘long lost’ friend types, that I value on it, are not the ones that drive me up the wall and down again by the frequency and content of what they’re FB’ing.

Like so many things in life – when new these services had a novelty factor, an early adopter coolness and that sense of being at the vanguard. After a while, though, they… degenerate.

Bizarrely, though, blogging has not lost its appeal the way those other services have. Ironic as my ‘readership’ is a fraction of what it was a few year ago. And yet – that doesn’t really bother me. I write these little anecdotes and reflections in lieu of keeping a diary. It’s not about trying to get a reaction / endorsement / praise / or to feed my ego.

Anyway, I’m digressing. Paul Mason’s piece is worth a read.

EDIT:

And looking through my Tumblr account this evening, the day after I wrote the above post, this apt image catches my eye!

2wenty

Source

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Which should I leave first, Twitter or Facebook?”

Add yours

  1. If you’d asked me a few years back, it would definitely have been FB that I’d have left first. Now it would be twitter, not that I’m planning on leaving either. These days twitter is too ‘blink and you’ll miss it’ and it seems that the micro-conversations we all used to love have all but disappeared. I use FB in a much different way now than I did when I first joined. I pay little attention to pages and not much more to my news feed but I am all about the groups which keep me up to date with things in the nail world and help me hone my tech skills. For me it’s more about networking now.

  2. “it seems that the micro-conversations we all used to love have all but disappeared.”

    That’s pretty much what Paul Mason is saying in his article which is such a shame as those micro conversations are what I enjoyed about it when I first started. Without those it feels like there is nothing to go back to 😦

    Ah, sounds like you’ve got FB working for you just right. I feel similar about LinkedIn I guess. I also feel that all of these social media services ARE good for getting hold of info and staying up to date with key information sources you value.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

