Supersizing oneself, a day at a time

Portions here are big. Anyone that has visited the US will remember that.

Today I had a ‘reuben’ (bagel) for lunch – and it was delicious. There is a place near me that does really amazing bagels and I have been addicted ever since I got here – and eaten far too many.

[Photograph: Max Falkowitz]
[Photograph: Max Falkowitz]
Now, I’m the person that doesn’t eat a lot of meat. But when the ingredients are really genuinely high quality (the fresh ‘everything’ bagel itself, the pastrami, sauerkraut, grilled cheese) – then it’s a delight. Really did taste good, as it should for $12 – and it took a surprisingly long time for them to prep! But the size of it! Could so very easily of fed two! And yet, I still ate most of it…

Pizzas are a bit like that. Even when I order the ‘small’ – they are on the large side.

Some days I will just eat two fresh (from the steaming vat!) bagels for breakfast. This isn’t healthy. In the UK I eat muesli for breakfast, every day!!

I can feel that I’m piling on the pounds. I knew that would happen. A certain inevitability about it. Hoping it will ‘stabilise’ rather than keep going up exponentially.

There is a gym in my building. Have I used it yet…? Next question.

I’m also drinking quite a lot of craft beer. It tastes so much better than the crap they used to have over here all those years ago.

2 thoughts on “Supersizing oneself, a day at a time

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

