Birdman

birdmanposter

Well that was quite the most surreal movie I’ve seen in a long time.

I saw it at Lincoln Center last night which is one of the big cinema complexes here in Manhattan. However, as it only came out on Friday (and you can’t seem to reserve actual seats like you can in the UK) – I ended up in a most unsatisfactory seat very near the front on the right hand side. The chairs in the cinema are comfortable, but I really didn’t appreciate the viewing angle – up and sideways.

Bizarrely the movie isn’t out in the UK until the New Year. I’d thought that the days of long pauses between films making their way over the Atlantic were over? Obviously not.

I like Michael Keaton, Naomi Watts, Edward Norton – solid line-up.

I’m not even going to try and write any kind of synopsis. I liked the sheer craziness and quirkiness of it but I didn’t enjoy the physical experience in the cinema because of my seating set-up – so that dented my enthusiasm.

I’d like to watch it again on DVD at home.

It actually felt more like a stage-play than a movie. The art-house/film-connoisseur set are loving it. Speaking of which, Lindsay Duncan seemed miscast in the NY theatre critic role. Just my 2c.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

