Vignettes – 03/03/15

A leaving do for a work colleague. Venue a private members’ club in St James’. My old stomping ground from days gone by (the area, rather than the club). I like these sorts of clubs – slightly stuffy yet also quite informal. Members on first name terms with all the staff. Lots of older people (i.e. those who have been members for decades). Cheap prices at the bar and in the restaurant. Traditional old-skool fare for dinner. I like that. In this part of town there are dozens of such clubs, ranging from the very grand to the fairly ordinary. I’ve been to a few over the years. I do wonder whether I might rather like being a member. I probably would.

The leaver (moving internally) gives me a hot tip about a potential promotion opportunity (for me) in the department she’s moving to. Very big ‘note to self’ to follow up tomorrow. She says she’ll put in a good word. Which I believe. I’m ready for a change.

An easy tube ride home.

Leave a Reply

