Wolf Hall – one of the best things on TV in a generation

Wolf Hall BBC Hilary Mantel

I think that Wolf Hall probably has been the best thing broadcast on the BBC in the last 5 or so years. Sublime drama – pure Game of Thrones territory in its ability to capture the imagination (sans dragons and gratuitous sex of course).

I’d never even heard of the guy that played Cromwell – Mark Rylance – now lorded as the ‘greatest actor of his generation’. It was all rather devastatingly good though. I’m not the world’s biggest history buff but it brought that period home in spades. Visceral, political, real. Incredibly vivid and accessible, not dusty at all.

Go forth and watch it or risk revelling in your own philistinism! 🙂

One thought on “Wolf Hall – one of the best things on TV in a generation

  1. That’s good to know. It’s about to be broadcast here on public television — there have been some very enticing teaser trailers. The book is still on a pile of “to get to” books by my bed, so I have a feeling I’ll end up seeing the show first 🙂

    I had also never heard of Mark Rylance, but I was thrilled to see Damian Lewis in the part of Henry VIII!

Leave a Reply

