A peach schnapps

Peach Schnapps Diana Henry Salt Sugar Smoke

I made it two years ago when I was going through a serious cooking phase. I no longer have the recipe as it was from Diana Henry’s Salt Sugar Smoke which I’d borrowed from the library. An excellent book devoted to preserving, pickling and bottling.

I remember that a lot of peaches went into it. And vodka and I think white wine. And herbs.

It has sat unopened in a sealed Kilner jar in the back of a cupboard for almost two years, only to recently be ‘found’ by me, and cracked open. I didn’t know what to expect.

The taste is very pleasant. Smooth, aromatic. Not as strong as vodka but not far off – I’m guessing 30-35% proof. Very easy to drink.

A hint of peaches and spice. Warming. Not too sweet. Enjoyable to drink when the wine has finished and you need a digestif (or two).

Leave a Reply

